Arigato Japan
Mountain ridge and grassland with sea of cloud in Chubu, Japan

No.03 · Regions

Nagano travel guide: when to go, where to stay, costs

Winter is the main season: Hakuba, Nozawa Onsen and the snow monkeys. Pick a place to stay, see what closes, and plan with times and costs for each trip.

Nagano suits travellers who want mountains, hot water and old Japan within two hours of Tokyo. December to March is the main season: skiing at Hakuba and Nozawa Onsen, snow monkeys at Jigokudani, Matsumoto Castle on a cold day. Plan 3 days for one place, or 5 for a ski trip with a sightseeing day. Nagano is a prefecture, not a city, and its towns sit 1 to 3 hours apart, so choose one or two. Kamikochi is shut in winter.

Best for: winter skiing that ends in a bath, snow monkeys, castle and temple stops, and Alpine walks from mid-April to mid-November.

Dollar figures use about ¥155 to US$1 and are rounded; you pay in yen, so check the rate.

Which trip fits you?

Ride & Soak and Hakuba ski are winter trips, while Castle and Alps needs mid-April to mid-November for Kamikochi.

Which trip fits you?
TripDaysStart fromSeasonBest for
Ride & Soak4Nozawa OnsenDec to MarSkiing, then free village baths
Hakuba ski4 to 5HakubaDec to MarSteeper terrain, ten resorts on one pass
Monkeys and temple3Nagano cityDec to MarJigokudani, Zenkoji, Hokusai in Obuse
Castle and Alps3MatsumotoCastle all year, Kamikochi mid-Apr to mid-NovMatsumoto Castle, Kamikochi
Post-town walk2Kiso ValleyApr to NovMagome to Tsumago on foot
Short break1 to 2KaruizawaAnyTokyo in about 64 minutes

Nozawa Onsen, Hakuba and Jigokudani have their own guides. No route between Hakuba and Nozawa is sourced, so no trip combines them.

When should you go?

Go December to March for snow and bathing monkeys, mid-April to mid-November for Kamikochi and long walks, and around mid-November for foliage in Nagano city.

When should you go?
SeasonWhat is onCrowdsCaveat
WinterDec to Mar: skiing at Hakuba, Nozawa Onsen and Shiga Kogen; snow monkeys; Exposition Hokusai in Obuse to 17 Jan 2027Year-end, New Year, February weekends and holidays; Hakuba and Nozawa buses sell outKamikochi and Tateyama Kurobe are closed. The snow outlook leans warm
SpringMar to May: Zenkoji's Gokaicho, a rare viewing of a replica of the main image, 4 Apr to 19 Jun 2027; castle blossom; Nakasendo walks from AprilGokaicho should draw crowds, per one guideKamikochi's 2027 opening is not announced (17 Apr in 2026). Blossom follows the bloom
SummerJun to Aug: Kamikochi and Tateyama Kurobe open; Hakuba's gondolas run in the green seasonNot sourcedRainy season from June to early July. No Nagano typhoon or heat figures found
AutumnSep to Nov: foliage; Obuse chestnuts from mid-September; Matsumoto Castle Week (3 to 10 Nov in 2026)Kamikochi weekends, not quantifiedKamikochi closes in mid-November 2026, Tateyama Kurobe 30 Nov

Nagano city’s autumn peak is near 12 Nov in a climatology, and the 2026 forecast had maples by 21 Nov. Kamikochi colours earlier, from mid-October. These are windows, not dates.

What does winter 2026-27 look like?

Nozawa Onsen’s regular ski period runs 19 Dec 2026 to 28 Mar 2027, with special prices listed from 28 Nov. Shiga Kogen runs 5 Dec 2026 to 5 May 2027 and Tsugaike opens 1 Dec. The Hakuba Valley pass goes on sale around November.

The Japan Meteorological Agency’s September outlook (unconfirmed figures) gives Honshu’s Sea of Japan side a 50% chance of below-normal snowfall (the wording is ambiguous). Guides put Hakuba at 10 to 12 m a year, deepest from mid-January to mid-February. Matsumoto’s basin is sheltered from the heaviest snow. More: Japow snow odds.

Adult one-day prices, already worked out in the resort guides:

What does winter 2026-27 look like?
AreaAdult dayNotes
Nozawa Onsen$50 (¥7,800)Regular period; on neither Ikon nor Epic
Hakuba Valley pass$72 (¥11,100)Ten resorts; Epic gives one free 5-day ticket across the valley
Happo-One$63 (¥9,800)High-season day; one backcountry gate
Shiga Kogen$61 (¥9,500)18 areas on one ticket; Ikon status unconfirmed

Also in the valley: Goryu and Hakuba47, $65 (¥10,000) for both; Tsugaike, $63 (¥9,800) with no night skiing; and Cortina. More: Shiga Kogen, the Japow hub and Ikon and Epic in Japan.

Nozawa’s Dosojin fire festival is on 15 Jan 2027, a Friday. Secondary sources say evening access is limited to villagers and guests with an overnight booking in the village, and no 2027 programme was posted by late October 2026. Zenkoji’s Tomyo lantern festival falls in February, and sources differ on the week. Matsumoto Castle is closed 29 to 31 Dec and opens 10:00 to 15:30 on 1 to 3 Jan.

How do you get there and around?

Take the Hokuriku Shinkansen from Tokyo Station: Nagano is 80 to 120 minutes away depending on the train, Karuizawa about 64, and every other town needs a bus or local train after that.

The Kagayaki takes about 80 minutes with reserved seats only and skips Karuizawa. The Hakutaka takes about 95 and the Asama about 100 to 120, per an operator guide. A route site lists $50 (¥7,680) unreserved on the Asama and Hakutaka and $54 (¥8,340) reserved; an operator guide says about $55 (¥8,500). Peak periods (year-end, Golden Week, Obon) cost more; no amount found.

How do you get there and around?
From TokyoRouteTimeOne-way fare
NaganoHokuriku Shinkansen80 to 120 min, by train type$50 to $55 (¥7,680 to ¥8,500)
KaruizawaAsama or Hakutakaabout 64 min$35 to $39 (¥5,490 to ¥6,020), approximate
Nozawa OnsenShinkansen to Iiyama, then the Nozawa Onsen Linerabout 2 h 10$61 (¥9,490), route database
HakubaShinkansen to Nagano, then the Alpico busabout 3 hours; 3 h 20 for Cortinaabout $79 (¥12,250) for Cortina, route database
MatsumotoAzusa from Shinjukuabout 2 h 35not found

The Alpico express from Nagano to Hakuba (70 to 80 minutes per guides) is the weak link. In 2025-26 its reserved buses ran from 13 Dec 2025 to 31 Mar 2026, with non-reserved buses added at busy times, and the adult fare was $23 (¥3,500) to Happo, Goryu and Hakuba Station and $25 (¥3,800) to Tsugaike Kogen and Hakuba Norikura. The 2026-27 timetable and fare are unclear right now: Alpico expects to update its page around mid-November 2026. Reserved seats are booked online only, from two months before travel.

A direct Shinjuku bus, run by Alpico and Keio, cost $41 to $50 (¥6,400 to ¥7,800) one way in 2025-26 and ran from 6 Dec 2025 to 31 Mar 2026; one guide gives 5 to 5.5 hours and says it sells out on New Year’s Eve and February weekends. A SNOW LINER service is listed from Haneda to Hakuba from 19 Dec 2026, from $48 (¥7,411), and Alpico’s Narita route was reported suspended for 2025-26. Tokyo to Hakuba in winter has the booking steps and ski bag rules.

Before you book Check the Alpico page after the mid-November update and reserve the day booking opens; the 2025-26 buses ran daily from 29 Dec to 3 Jan.

Rail passes. The Hokuriku Shinkansen is JR, so a JR Pass covers it. Alpico and Nagaden buses and trains are private, and cover for the Nozawa Onsen Liner is unconfirmed. Summed fares: a Tokyo to Nagano return is about $110 (¥16,680) reserved, against $325 (¥50,000) for the official 7-day pass, a limited-time online price with no announced end date, or $340 (¥53,000) at agents since 1 Oct 2026, so the pass needs several more long legs to pay. Prices and verdict: Can I use a JR Pass for Tokyo, Hakuba and Kyoto? and What changed in 2026. JR East’s Nagano-Niigata area pass: status not found.

Rail or car? Rail reaches every town here; a car helps only for Hakuba, the Kiso Valley and Kamikochi. Chains or studless tyres are legally required on snow and ice roads, per the prefectural police’s older English page. Many Tokyo rental firms lack winter fleets, so rent in Nagano city, per the prefecture’s tourism site. Paperwork: Can I rent a car in winter with an IDP?. Kamikochi bars private cars beyond the Kama Tunnel all year: park at Sawando or Akandana, then take a bus or taxi.

Where should you stay?

Choose Nagano city for the monkeys and temples, Nozawa Onsen or Hakuba for snow, Matsumoto for the castle and the Alps, and Karuizawa for the shortest trip from Tokyo.

Where should you stay?
Stay inSuitsDay trips from there
Nagano cityFirst visit: monkeys, Zenkoji, ObuseZenkoji: Nagaden 4 min, $1 (¥170), then a 5 to 10 minute walk. Jigokudani: bus about 40 to 45 min, $12 to $13 (¥1,800 to ¥2,000; sources differ), then a 30 minute trail. Yudanaka, for Shibu Onsen: Nagaden express about 45 min, $8 (¥1,290) unreserved, or local about 70 min, $8 (¥1,190). Obuse: Nagaden, fare not found.
MatsumotoCastle, Kamikochi mid-Apr to mid-NovKamikochi: Alpico rail 30 min, $5 (¥710), then a 65 minute bus, $18 to $20 (¥2,850 to ¥3,100). Closed in winter
HakubaSkiing across ten resortsA free valley shuttle runs on ski days. Nagano by Alpico: 70 to 80 min
Nozawa OnsenSkiing with village bathsIiyama by Liner: 25 min, $4 (¥600). No day trip is sourced, including to the monkeys
KaruizawaA short trip from TokyoHours, fees and winter status for its sights are not found

Only Nagano city reaches the monkeys, Zenkoji and Obuse without a night elsewhere. Nozawa and Hakuba work better as their own stays.

What are the highlights?

Matsumoto Castle, Zenkoji, Hokusai-kan and the Snow Monkey Park have sourced fees and hours.

Castles, temples and art

Castles, temples and art
SightEntryHoursClosed or status
Matsumoto CastleAbout $8 (¥1,200) timed e-ticket, $8 (¥1,300) paper, child $3 (¥400); unclear right now, since the info page also shows an older $5 (¥700)8:30 to 17:00, last entry 16:30Closed 29 to 31 Dec only; 1 to 3 Jan 10:00 to 15:30. E-tickets: no changes or cancellation
Zenkoji, Nagano$5 (¥800) for the inner hall and underground passage; Sanmon $5 (¥800); Kyozo $3 (¥500); combined with museum $10 (¥1,500); outer hall freeInner hall closes 16:30 April to October, 16:15 March and November, 16:00 December to February; Sanmon, Kyozo and museum 9:00 to 16:00No closed days listed; closes 13:00 on 31 Dec. Morning service at sunrise (about 7:00 in January per a secondary guide), with a head blessing anyone may receive
Hokusai-kan, Obuse$8 (¥1,200)9:00 to 17:00, last entry 16:30Exposition Hokusai, 24 Oct 2026 to 17 Jan 2027, about 160 works, some swapped on 9 Dec. Partial closure 7 to 8 Dec 2026
Ganshoin, Obuse$3 (¥500)Nov 9:00 to 16:00; Dec to Mar 9:30 to 15:30Closed 28 Dec to 4 Jan. No photos

A castle and City Museum e-ticket costs $10 (¥1,500). Hokusai-kan’s weekly closing day is not stated. North and central Japan temples covers Zenkoji in more detail, and Samurai castles and history covers Matsumoto Castle.

Wildlife and mountains

Wildlife and mountains
SightEntryHours or seasonClosed or status
Snow Monkey ParkAdult $6 (¥1,000) on site from 1 Dec 2026, $6 (¥880) online; child $3 (¥500) on siteWinter 9:00 to 16:00Open all year, may close without notice. Online tickets since 6 Aug 2026, with winter entry priority
KamikochiBus fares only; no entry fee found2026 season ends in mid-NovemberRoad shut to vehicles until about 17 Apr; 2027 date not announced
Tateyama KurobeFare not foundOgizawa side, about 15 Apr to 30 Nov in 2026Closed in winter
Nakasendo walkNot statedMagome to Tsumago, about 8 km, 2.5 to 3 hA prefecture guide advises against hiking Dec to Mar

The monkey day has its own page: Jigokudani snow monkeys in winter.

What should you eat?

Soba, oyaki and sake tours have prices, and a soba portion runs $5 to $10 (¥800 to ¥1,500).

What should you eat?
FoodWhat it isPrice
SobaCold with dipping sauce or hot in broth; Togakushi soba and Kiso's sunki are local names$5 to $10 (¥800 to ¥1,500) a standard portion at dedicated shops
OyakiDumplings with a flour or buckwheat skin, filled with nozawana or red bean$1 to $2 (¥200 to ¥350) each at specialty shops and roadside stations
Sake toursNagano walking tour; Matsumoto brewery tour; Obuse lunch and sake walkFrom $57 (¥8,800), $65 (¥10,000) and $115 (¥17,800); tours, not tasting alone

These prices come from an undated guide and operator listings, all secondary. Basashi (horse sashimi), apples, nozawana pickles and gohei mochi are listed without prices. Market hours and booking lead times are not found. Eat well in Japan covers ordering, sake and dietary needs.

Where can you soak?

Nozawa Onsen. The 13 public baths (sotoyu) are free, each with a donation box. Most open 6:00 to 23:00 from December to March; Taki no Yu, Shin-yu and Juoudo no Yu close at 22:00. Wash before you enter, keep the towel out of the tub, and do not bathe late at night. Asakama no Yu is restricted to villagers, and so is the Ogama cooking spring; one guide says Taki no Yu is for guests staying in the village. Akiba-no-yu was reported suspended in 2026. Manners: Onsen etiquette.

Shibu Onsen, Yamanouchi. Nine baths for residents and inn guests. Your inn rents you a key, and you visit in any order. Official rules: yukata from the inn, your own bath towel and washcloth (no showers, shampoo or soap), wash first. A secondary source says only Oyu, bath No. 9, takes day visitors, at about $3 (¥500), with hours of 10:00 to 17:00 or 10:00 to 16:00 in different sources. The official English pages list no fees or hours, and Yudanaka’s public bath fees and hours are not found.

Tattoos. No official page states a tattoo rule for Nozawa’s baths, Shibu’s nine or Yudanaka’s. One secondary source says some Shibu baths ask you to cover up, so ask your inn first. A private bath is the fallback: Can I go in an onsen with a tattoo? and Can I use a private onsen bath?

What do sample itineraries cost?

The 3-day monkey trip costs about $155 (¥24,000), four days in Nozawa Onsen about $215 (¥33,480) and Matsumoto with Kamikochi $54 to $57 (¥8,320 to ¥8,820), before the legs marked not found.

Itinerary 1: Monkeys, temple and Hokusai (3 days, winter)

  1. Day 1: Tokyo to Nagano, 80 to 120 min by train type, $54 (¥8,340) reserved. Zenkoji by Nagaden, 4 min, $1 (¥170), inner hall $5 (¥800). It closes at 16:00 from December to February.
  2. Day 2: Jigokudani. Bus about 40 to 45 min, about $12 (¥1,800) each way, then the 30 minute trail. Online ticket $6 (¥880). The park closes at 16:00 and asks you to arrive 30 minutes before, so start the trail by 15:00.
  3. Day 3: Obuse by Nagaden: Hokusai-kan $8 (¥1,200) and Ganshoin $3 (¥500). Return to Tokyo, $54 (¥8,340).

Sum: about $155 (¥24,000), using the $12 (¥1,800) bus fare (other listings show $13 (¥2,000)), = 2 × $54 (¥8,340) + 2 × $1 (¥170) + $5 (¥800) + 2 × $12 (¥1,800) + $6 (¥880) + $8 (¥1,200) + $3 (¥500). It leaves out the Nagaden fare to Obuse (not found), lodging, food and lodging tax.

Itinerary 2: Ride & Soak in Nozawa Onsen (4 days, winter)

  1. Day 1: Tokyo to Iiyama, about 100 min, then the Liner, 25 min, $4 (¥600), no reservation. A route database puts the whole trip at about 2 h 10, $61 (¥9,490).
  2. Day 2: Ski; check lift closing times on the Nozawa Onsen Snow Resort page.
  3. Day 3: Ski, then the bath crawl, 6:00 to 23:00.
  4. Day 4: Return by Liner and Shinkansen.

Sum: $215 (¥33,480) = 2 × $61 (¥9,490) + $94 (¥14,500) for a 2-day adult lift ticket. Totals convert from the yen sum, so parts can differ by $1. It leaves out rental, lodging, food, donations and lodging tax.

Itinerary 3: Matsumoto and Kamikochi (3 days, mid-April to mid-November)

  1. Day 1: Shinjuku to Matsumoto by Azusa, about 2 h 35. Matsumoto Castle, about $8 (¥1,200) for a timed e-ticket.
  2. Day 2: Kamikochi: Alpico rail 30 min, $5 (¥710), then a bus of 65 min, $18 to $20 (¥2,850 to ¥3,100), each way. Check the last bus back before you set out.
  3. Day 3: Azusa back to Shinjuku.

Sum: $54 to $57 (¥8,320 to ¥8,820) = 2 × $5 (¥710) + 2 × $18 to $20 (¥2,850 to ¥3,100) + $8 (¥1,200). It leaves out both Azusa fares (not found) and lodging. In winter, swap Kamikochi for the castle and City Museum e-ticket, $10 (¥1,500).

What are the rules, risks and costs?

Jigokudani has the strictest rules, and Nagano Prefecture’s lodging tax started on 1 Jun 2026.

  • Jigokudani: no pets, assistance dogs included; no bathing with the monkeys; no wheelchairs or carts on the trail. Cards and e-money work, QR payments do not. Car parks close to some vehicles on New Year and winter weekends, so use public transport.
  • Nakasendo in winter: cold and slippery; one operator advises traction footwear.
  • Bears: official Hakuba sightings from May to July 2026 included an adult with cubs, Karuizawa had reports in June 2026, and an aggregator logs many incidents around Kamikochi. No official Nagano bell or spray advisory is found; Bear safety in Japan has the national checklist.

Safety Nozawa has two backcountry gates, not installed in low-snow periods, and crossing the rope is forbidden. Only five of Hakuba’s ten resorts have gates. Read Backcountry & safety before you leave the groomed runs.

Lodging tax. Nagano Prefecture charges $1 (¥200) per person per night for stays from 1 Jun 2026, rising to $2 (¥300) from June 2029. Rooms under $39 (¥6,000) per person before tax are exempt. Matsumoto, Karuizawa, Achi, Hakuba and Nozawa Onsen add their own town tax, with a smaller prefectural share for the first three years. One hotel notice puts Matsumoto’s total at $1 (¥200), and Karuizawa’s runs $1 to $5 (¥200 to ¥700), rising with the room rate. Hakuba and Nozawa quotes conflict, so ask the lodging for the total. Nagano city is not among them, and no city tax is found. Hotel taxes and where to stay compares other regions.

What are the rules, risks and costs?
ItemCost
Tokyo to NaganoOne way: $50 to $55 (¥7,680 to ¥8,500)
Jigokudani entryAdult from 1 Dec 2026: $6 (¥1,000) on site, $6 (¥880) online
SobaStandard portion: $5 to $10 (¥800 to ¥1,500)

Lodging rates are not sourced here.

Can I…?

Where next?

Quick answers

How many days do I need in Nagano?

Three days for one place, five for a ski trip plus a sightseeing day. Nagano city, Matsumoto, Hakuba and Nozawa Onsen sit 1 to 3 hours apart by train and bus, so two places is the practical limit.

Can I see the snow monkeys as a day trip from Tokyo?

On paper, yes: about 2 hours 35 minutes of moving time each way (Shinkansen about 80 minutes on the fastest train, bus about 45, trail about 30). The park closes at 16:00 in winter and the monkeys may skip the bath, so a night near Nagano gives more slack. Buy an online ticket first.

Hakuba or Nozawa Onsen?

Hakuba for bigger terrain: ten resorts on one $72 (¥11,100) day pass, about 3 hours from Tokyo by route database estimates. Nozawa Onsen for a village trip: a $50 (¥7,800) day ticket and 13 village baths that are free to use, about 2 h 10 from Tokyo. Neither is on Ikon. Epic gives one free 5-day ticket across the Hakuba Valley resorts, and Nozawa is not on Epic.

Does a JR Pass cover Nagano and Hakuba?

It covers the Hokuriku Shinkansen to Nagano, which is JR. The Alpico bus to Hakuba and the Nagaden buses to the snow monkeys are private lines, so budget them separately. A Tokyo to Nagano return is about $110 (¥16,680) at the reserved fare, against $325 (¥50,000) for the official 7-day pass, a limited-time online price with no announced end date, or $340 (¥53,000) at agents since 1 Oct 2026. The pass needs several more long legs to pay off.

Is Kamikochi open in winter?

No. Kamikochi closes in mid-November, with the 2026 closing ceremony on 15 Nov, and the road is shut to vehicles from 16 Nov. It opened on 17 Apr in 2026; the 2027 date is not announced. There is no winter bus or taxi.

When is the best time to visit Nagano?

December to March for skiing and snow monkeys, mid-April to mid-November for Kamikochi, and around mid-November for foliage in Nagano city. Foliage and blossom dates move every year, so treat these as typical windows, not promises.