Arigato Japan

Destination · Japow

Happo-One: price, gate, Epic days and access from Tokyo

A 1,071 m drop, a $63 (¥9,800) high-season day and one backcountry gate. Epic's free 5-day valley ticket works here; Ikon does not.

Happo-One has the biggest drop of the valley’s main resorts, 1,071 m, and a high-season day costs $63 (¥9,800), 12% under a Hakuba Valley pass day. It suits intermediates and stronger skiers, plus Epic holders, whose free 5-day valley ticket works here. The one backcountry gate needs a registration form before you buy a ticket.

Dollar figures convert at ¥155 to US$1, rounded. You pay in yen, so check the rate.

Is Happo-One right for you?

Yes if you are an intermediate or stronger skier, a teenager or an Epic holder; skip it if you ride night sessions or hold an Ikon pass.

Good for

  • Intermediates and up: 16 courses, 30% beginner, 50% intermediate and 20% advanced, and 21 lifts per the resort (1 gondola, 5 quad, 3 triple, 12 pair); the valley’s table says 23.
  • Teenagers: the child ticket runs to age 17, $32 (¥4,900) in high season. The valley pass charges adult prices from 13.

Not for

  • Ikon holders, since Hakuba is not on Ikon, or night skiers: the resort lists no night ticket and its pages show no night skiing.
  • Anyone who needs Niseko-level English: one secondary comparison guide rates the barrier somewhat higher, though many bars and shops at Happo are English-friendly. The resort says its rental shops give information in English.

How do you get from Tokyo to Happo-One?

Take the Hokuriku Shinkansen to Nagano, about 80 minutes on the fastest train and $50 to $55 (¥7,680 to ¥8,500) one way, by source. Then take the Alpico express bus, about 70 minutes. In 2025-26 it cost $23 to $25 (¥3,500 to ¥3,800) one way, by stop and season, per the operator timetable. The 2026-27 fare and timetable are unclear right now: check the operator page before you go.

A Japan Rail Pass covers the Shinkansen but not the private Alpico bus: Can I use a JR Pass for Tokyo, Hakuba and Kyoto? No official fare or timetable from Hakuba Station to Happo-One is published. More routes: Tokyo to ski resorts.

What does a Happo-One day cost in 2026-27?

An adult day costs $63 (¥9,800) in high season and $41 (¥6,400) either side of it, per the resort’s ticket page, which prices 1 Dec 2026 to 5 May 2027; dates may change. Adults are 18 to 64; children are 6 to 17 and show ID.

What does a Happo-One day cost in 2026-27?
1 day1 to 18 Dec 202619 Dec to 22 Mar 202723 Mar to 5 May 2027
Adult$41 (¥6,400)$63 (¥9,800)$41 (¥6,400)
Child$21 (¥3,200)$32 (¥4,900)$21 (¥3,200)
  • Half-day: $52 (¥8,100), high season only, just $11 (¥1,700) under a full day. Seniors (65+, ID) pay $61 (¥9,500) in high season.
  • Beginners: the “Happo Debut” ticket, $32 (¥4,900), works only on specified beginner lifts.

Happo-One ticket or the Hakuba Valley pass?

Buy the Happo-One ticket unless you will ski two resorts in one day. The valley day is $72 (¥11,100), $8 (¥1,300) more, and above the 2026-27 window prices at Tsugaike, Goryu and Hakuba47: $63 to $65 (¥9,800 to ¥10,000).

Happo-One ticket or the Hakuba Valley pass?
Adult daysHappo-One ticketsValley pass
1 day$63 (¥9,800)$72 (¥11,100)
5 days$315 (¥49,000)$345 (¥53,400)
Teen, 1 day$32 (¥4,900)$72 (¥11,100)

Teen means aged 13 to 17: the valley pass charges adult prices from 13. Happo-One’s 5 days are five day tickets; the valley’s run inside a 10-day window.

The pass pays when you ski more than one resort in a day: an earlier valley post says it works at several resorts on the same day. Pass holders also ride the valley shuttle free on ski days, with conditions. That shuttle cost about $5 (¥800) a ride in 2025-26, so riding it both ways at $10 (¥1,600) outweighs the $8 (¥1,300) price gap. In the $41 (¥6,400) weeks a valley day costs 73% more. Unused valley days are void with no refund.

Does Epic work at Happo-One?

Yes, through the valley. Epic, Epic Local and Epic Australia holders get one free ticket for 5 consecutive days at all 10 Hakuba Valley resorts, with no blackout dates, worth $315 (¥49,000) at Happo-One’s high-season price. It is not valid at night, which matters little with no night skiing listed. Bring the physical card and photo ID: the mobile pass cannot ride the lifts there. Redeem it at a designated valley ticket window. See Ikon and Epic in Japan.

Riding a board?

Wear a leash, and book group lessons elsewhere in the valley.

  • Leashes are mandatory valley-wide, per the valley’s safety page. Happo-One’s own terrain page is silent.
  • The resort’s school offers no group snowboard lessons, only private ones from age 8. Evergreen runs group lessons from age 7, with no prices listed.
  • The 2026-27 park status is unannounced, and an older guide says no park. More: Snowboarding in Japan.

What do the rules say about leaving the piste?

Happo-One has one designated gate, above the top station of the Grat quad lift, and leaving the piste anywhere else is banned. No gate hours are stated, and some slopes near the boundary stay closed even through the gate, so check the map or ask patrol.

The Omusubi free-riding area is expert-only, up to 33 degrees, and opens only when the upper gate is released. Nagano Prefecture’s tourism site gives a typical window of mid-January to late March, 9:00 to 15:00.

  • Register first. The valley’s safety page says to submit the Mountain-Climbing Registration Form before you buy lift tickets. The resort says to file with Nagano Prefecture at the gondola boarding area or online. Hours are not stated.
  • Kit and company. Carry a transceiver, probe and shovel, never go alone, and check the Nagano avalanche information daily. A guide is advised for inexperienced skiers, not stated as mandatory.
  • Limits. Yellow-topped poles mark closed areas, and entry is banned. Past the boundary the resort takes no responsibility, and the rescued person pays private rescue costs.

Safety Register first, carry the kit and treat the gate as a rule.

More: Backcountry & safety and Can I ski off-piste in Japan without a guide?

Is the 2026-27 snow looking good?

The 2026-27 outlook leans warm, with Honshu’s Sea of Japan side weaker than Hokkaido’s. The Japan Meteorological Agency’s September outlook (unconfirmed figures) gives that side a 50% chance of below-normal snowfall. Guides put the valley at 10 to 12 m a year; no Happo-One figure is published. Odds: Snow odds.

Ride & Soak card: one day at Happo-One

A Happo-One day pairs a $63 (¥9,800) lift ticket with an evening bath in the village.

  • Transport: Shinkansen then Alpico bus, about 2 h 30 on the estimates above.
  • Thrill: a high-season day ticket, $63 (¥9,800).
  • Soak: Happo-no-Yu and Mimizuku-no-Yu, 10:00 to 21:00 daily (Happo-no-Yu last entry 20:30), per Hakuba Happo Onsen’s English site, which lists no price or tattoo rule: Can you go in an onsen with a tattoo?
  • Meal: village restaurants on the resort’s English page, such as Ramen Happo-bijin, with no prices or hours.

A post on the resort’s page says Gondola Adam retires after the 2027 winter season; the wording is ambiguous.

Where next?

All ten resorts: Hakuba Valley. Next door: Goryu and Hakuba47 for Goryu’s night skiing, Tsugaike for beginners, Cortina for tree skiing. Back to Japow.

Quick answers

How much is a Happo-One lift ticket in 2026-27?

An adult one-day ticket is $63 (¥9,800) from 19 Dec 2026 to 22 Mar 2027 and $41 (¥6,400) from 1 to 18 Dec and from 23 Mar to 5 May, per the resort's page. A child aged 6 to 17 pays $32 (¥4,900) in high season. The page lists no night ticket.

Is Happo-One on the Epic Pass or Ikon?

Epic, through the valley. Epic holders get one free ticket valid for 5 consecutive days at all 10 Hakuba Valley resorts, with no blackout dates and no night skiing. Bring the physical card and photo ID. Hakuba is not on Ikon.

Should I buy a Happo-One ticket or the Hakuba Valley pass?

Buy the Happo-One ticket unless you will ski two resorts in one day. A valley day is $72 (¥11,100), $8 (¥1,300) more than Happo-One's high-season day, and unused valley days are void with no refund.

Can I ski off-piste at Happo-One?

Only through the designated gate above the top station of the Grat quad lift. Submit the Mountain-Climbing Registration Form before you buy tickets, carry a transceiver, probe and shovel, and never go alone. Entering or leaving the piste anywhere else is banned.