Arigato Japan

Answer · Get answers

Which IDP do you need for a drift lesson in Japan?

Depends

No IDP at two closed-circuit schools; a licence at the Fuji skidpad and Rusutsu; a paper 1949 Geneva IDP only if you rent a road car.

Short answer

Depends on the operator. Tokyo Extreme Drive says no IDP is needed to drift, and Matenro last listed no licence or IDP either. Both are closed-circuit schools near Tokyo. The Fuji Speedway Hotel skidpad and Rusutsu snow driving ask for a licence. A paper IDP under the 1949 Geneva Convention matters only if you rent a road car to get there.

Why

Japan’s National Police Agency accepts only 1949 Geneva IDPs, and that rule governs public roads. A closed-circuit lesson is a private product, so the school sets age, licence and insurance terms. Drifting on public roads is illegal.

What to do instead

  • Want the feel without the paperwork? A passenger ride needs no licence. See the drift taxi answer.
  • Ask the operator in writing about age, licence and damage. No operator publishes who pays for a damaged drift car.

Conditions

Conditions
OptionLicence or IDPMinimum agePrice
Matenro private lessonnone, last known18, last known$1,290 (¥199,800), last known
Tokyo Extreme Driveno IDP needed to drift; licence optional but preferred; bring the original passport, not a photocopy18from $1,610 (¥250,000)
Fuji Speedway Hotel skidpadvalid Japanese or international licencenot stated$28 (¥4,400) per car, 15 min self-drive
Rusutsu snow drivinglicence must be shownnot statedfrom $200 (¥31,000) as driver, 30 min

Road rental: paper IDP, carried with your home licence, with the vehicle category stamped. Holders of Swiss, German, French, Belgian, Monaco and Taiwan licences need an official Japanese translation instead. Rental staff may check your entry stamp. Enterprise lists 18 as its minimum rental age; other firms differ.

Dollar figures use about ¥155 to US$1 and are rounded; you pay in yen, so check the rate.

Questions

Can I ___ in Japan?